The Western Shared Business Network (WSBN) began  with the inception of the Western Region Business Center in October of 2009. With the evolution from the Western Region Business Center to now the WSBN many of the strategies required for success are already in place. The WSBN includes the following nine counties: Wyoming, Genesee, Monroe, Orleans, Niagara, Erie, Chautauqua, Cattaraugus, and Allegany.


These Western New York Cornell Cooperative Extension Associations desire to improve program capacity, operational efficiency, and cost effectiveness and together with Cornell Cooperative Extension Administration are committed and obligated to ensuring that the Cornell Cooperative Extension system is robust, resilient, and sustainable. We have committed to developing the WSBN to conduct our business operations allowing for greater resources to be focused on program delivery.

The WSBN will provide these three key services for our 9-county region: Finance, Human Resources (HR), and Information Technology (IT). The WSBN has full time functional leads in Finance, HR, and IT totaling a staff of five people.

The WSBN has had for some time a functioning Administrative Management Group (AMG) with representation from the Executive Directors from all nine counties. The WSBN staff provides updates to the AMG on a regular basis. The AMG has meetings on a quarterly basis with regular communication via email and phone between meetings.

Last updated July 26, 2019